RSS

With Great Power….

25 Jul

asm700

Hello.
Everything is still pretty abstract. I’m not sure of what is happening on the other side of much at all. Who’s reading this? I don’t know. Who’s growing inside my wife? I don’t know. Are we having a boy or a girl? I don’t know. Will our plans work out? If so, which ones? I don’t know. Are any of my prayers for the future being answered? I don’t know. I don’t know who to address this to, but I do know that I want someone to read it. And as far as that is concerned there is only one person who has the most questions centered around them, so I suppose I’ll aim my voice that way.
Hello… you. I’m your dad… yep. how’s it goin. I don’t know much about you yet but that’s okay cuz you don’t either. I’m in my 30’s and I only know a little bit about myself. So there’s no rush for you to figure out much right off the bat. Sometimes living is hard to do. So, just know that I’m always gonna do my best to take the lead for you and be swingin, and learning my hardest right beside you. No sir, or ma’am. Don’t you worry about THAT my friend. You’ve got my true blue word on that.
I really look forward to talking with you. I can’t imagine what you might want to talk about. I hope you like cool stuff like morality tales of truth and justice and real life triumph in the face of real life adversity. And Spider-Man! Yeah, I know- One of these things is not like the others. But that’s just because other entities have adulterated it with corporate interests and product placements so the original tone, coloring, and message has been bogged in the mire of numbers. (Oh god I hope you’re better with numbers than I am) And while he is a fictional character, the message is very real. Let you’re young father tell you about Spider-Man.
First of all his name is hyphenated. Second of all Spider-Man got me through some lonely times growing up and I hope you never have to feel like I did then… but like I said earlier, sometimes living is hard to do. So we all need somebody there beside us, taking the lead and swinging hard. And for me, growing up, it was Spider-Man. I have to accept the inevitability that at some point in your life you may feel some loneliness as well, (it’s a part of the human condition) so I hope that I can be that source of support for you. But I also must accept that there is only so much a Dad can console or reconcile, so if there’s some other source of support you may need, I assure we will find it for you. You won’t have to hide alone in the woods or under a chapel pew searching the contents of a silly comic book to try and find the inner strength to face bullies and jerks or understand why people do HALF The things they do. We’ll talk more about all that later, but for now let’s get back to Spider-Man.
He’s a regular guy with regular problems that regular guys can relate to. Spider-Man is a flawed person. He has bad days just like everyone else. People in his world look at him in his mask and marvel at his amazing abilities. However, most of them have no idea that the only reason he is wearing that mask and doing what he does is because he made a shameful, relatable, human mistake. In one instant of foolish pride, he lost someone very close to him because he chose to act (or rather not to act) on selfish anger. He had the ability and power to do the right thing but he was irresponsible with that power and his uncle died as a result. As horrible as it was, and as heavy as the burden has been for him, he chose to learn a lesson and build his life around that lesson, and he became a better person as a result. “With great power comes great responsibility.” As lame as it may sound I am actually going to rely heavily on that adage in my time with you. Because when I boil it down to the nitty gritty… I too am a flawed person- and I want to be, and will desperately try to be, your hero.
-dad.
p.s. wow. that was kinda heavy.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “With Great Power….

  1. Vicki Cleland

    July 31, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    I loved this piece! We are all always learning, trust me on that in my 50’s! I think that because of everything that you are and everything you have been through, you will be a much more intune dad and the baby will adore you! If nothing else, this is great therapy….writing always is. Congratulations on your marriage, the step sons, the new baby, the new house, a lot of things going great in your life right now. I don’t know you but I am a friend of your mom’s and I love her! And…p.s. she might be just as excited or maybe more about the baby! Good luck to all of you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
