RSS

ice breaker, introduction, first impression, mission statement, bleh…

17 Jul

Chris-Melanie

Hi… whoever you are… How’s it goin?

I am a newly married 34 year old step father with a baby on the way. I’ve recently made the transition between living single and married with children and it hasn’t always been the most graceful of transformations. To be perfectly honest, I think it’s only begun and I am still in the process… It’s a hard thing to do man. It’s the most complicated, intricate, and daring balancing act over the most infamous bottomless gorge of life that’s ever been conceived and I’M the one doing it… Not some expert daredevil olympic circus bad ass performer… there are no practice runs, and no training. Just learning as you go and literally flying by the seat of your pants…

To my credit I have quit smoking (which was an all but impossible feat in itself) and I only drink about once a month. Which consist of four 16 oz., 3 point beers.

I’m a step father of two teenage boys and I have one child of my own consequence on the way. I like to think that I am by nature a pretty considerate and conscientious person, but when you throw kids into it, as a first time parent I think that any inherent ability of consideration kind of goes out the window a little bit… or maybe it’s just grossly dwarfed… I dunno.

It’s especially difficult to manage if one is as vocationally or professionally unsatisfied as I am. Almost fifteen years ago I decided to pursue an “education” and career as a graphic designer. At the time I thought it made sense and that it was actually the most responsible direction I could take since I grew up wanting to be a cartoonist or comic book artist… long story short, It is painfully obvious to me that I should have pursued my initial passion instead getting burned out in a dying, dime-a-dozen profession.

I currently work in a dead end butt hole known as a newspaper. I hate my job. Hate it. Hate it. Hate it. I work in the advertising portion, laying out ads for local car lots so that every mega-monday truck month sale, black friday madness sale, and god knows what other sale can help churn out the allmighty american dollar and over sexualize the under-aged population. It’s awful work, with unforgiving deadlines and client needs to be met on a daily basis, only to have your hard work end up in a landfill or gutter in less than a week.

Now days, the majority of graphic designers do not work in print (like I do) and are resigned to working primarily on web based platforms. But if you could guess how much I love working in the print venue of my chosen vocation. I’ll bet you can fathom just how much interest I have working in the faster digital venue… Yes, that’s right… NONE. WHAT. SO. EVER.

In my free time I maintain aspirations of self publishing a graphic novel, but that particular project has been in the works for a few years now, and has been on hold for about two. I would kill for just one friend to bounce ideas off of in an active pursuit of this… dream. So, for now I’m just getting back into the swing of writing and flexing my individual voice until the works and words are nimble and quick once more.

But… I’m getting old and already in the last couple of years my obligations have literally quadrupled. My wife and I are soon approaching our one year anniversary and recently bought a house- PLUS we have a baby on the way which is my first child and her third. I can’t even begin to express how excited I am to be a father of a child. To articulate the intricate ratio of overwhelming joy and crippling emotional terror is a whole other discussion. One in which I will touch quite frequently in the future, I assure you. But all digression aside, Thats FOUR people’s needs that I am required by law of man AND God to put above my own, and that’s especially difficult and stressful right now, in the beginning, because I’m still learning how to communicate appropriately with everyone involved, while not trying to feel completely inadequate and worthless about my stupid pointless job at some local midwestern newspaper, and yearning for the satisfaction of writing and illustrating and BELIEVING in my own great american graphic novel and being my own boss… Can you imagine that? All while trying to be the model father knowing (if your own misdirected life goals are any indication) how short you will fall… So here I am…

Don’t get me wrong. My wife is wonderful and just as smart as she is drop dead gorgeous- I am completely in love with her. Our home is beautiful and perfect in every way and my step kids are a couple of incredibly articulate geniuses well beyond their years. My baby, I have no doubt is the personification of my every ideal… and despite my gratitude for them, whether I like it or not, at some point I am going to fail them all.

Let this be an account of my pride and triumphs and catharsis for my shortcomings.

C.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “ice breaker, introduction, first impression, mission statement, bleh…

  1. Susan Elliott

    July 17, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I think that was some of the best writing I’ve ever read from you. You have grown and if you continue with this you won’t fail at all. I can see you starting a career and illustrating it yourself with your experiences as a new dad. I can see maybe a children’s book or something comical. Reminds me a lot of the book “Marley and me.” You have a similar style. I like it.

     
  2. Jeanne

    July 17, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    As a frustrated psychologist and wannabe writer, that was spot on. Hey we have all been in those jobs and up to our arses in kids, bills and matrimonial bliss. You are a lot smarter than you give yourself credit for. I just read a great and funny book that you might enjoy. It’s called “Start” by Jon Acuff. Brilliant guy, who was where you are. Congrats on the boys, baby, and wife!

     
  3. Debbie Baxter

    July 17, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Wow, you had me entertained with the introduction! You have everything it takes to be a wonderful writer. Just reading that I felt every emotion from fear to elation. Congratulations on starting a family. You have way more insight than I did at that time in my life. Keep writing and let me know when the first book comes out!

     
  4. teri reese

    July 17, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    No matter how much you hate your job, keep it until you are READY to move to the next one. No matter how long it takes, stick with what you want to do ………….don’t EVER give up on your dream. (I am still working on what I wanna do “when I grow up” and I am 57 years old. but I will not give up!) If you ever want help with proof-reading, especially spelling and punctuation, I’d be happy to help. Take care of those kids. they will motivate AND inspire you.

     
  5. Teresa Herleth

    July 17, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Being all grown up can really BITE! But you DO sound like a grownup…no matter how reluctant. I applaude your thoughts on failing. All I can say is…”get over it!” We ALL do…we ALL will! None of us parent as well as we hoped. Failing is part of the process…part of being human. I love your writing. Keep at the “job”. The struggle will give you fodder for your writing…and pay a few bills. I am so PROUD to see this brilliance coming out!! It will be awesome to say “I knew him when…”.

     
  6. Cousin, Sarah

    July 18, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    I am SO glad you are back on the writing platform, excited for all the new adventures you will have with your new family, happy that you haven’t given up your passion to write a graphic novel – you’ve always been gifted, AND SO STINKIN’ PROUD that you’ve given up your former habits!!!

     
  7. christopher521

    July 18, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Thank you everyone. Your words and input mean a lot and have done me very well. More to come soon, but in the meantime, I hope you all have had a great week and enjoy an even better weekend. Thank you so much.

     
  8. Ann Colyer

    July 31, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    Chris, I love your writing! I agree with Teri, do not give up on your dreams! Congratulations on your family and the new one on the way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
